• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  0
    Likes Likes:  0
    Results 1 to 8 of 8
    1. #1
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Robert Langdon's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Dubai / Alappuzha
      Posts
      12,822
      Mentioned
      23 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      43507

      Post Mersal - Langdon's Take

      #Mersal is Atlee's love letter to Vijay's star manifestation that celebrates its cliches and plays it to the gallery but also manages to be engaging as well at the same time, unlike the director's previous half-baked outings like 'Raja Rani' and 'Theri'.

      It has hardly anything new to offer apart from its medical backdrop, as the basic premise or setting is straight out of Shankar's / Murugadoss' quintessential potboilers like Sivaji and Kaththi coupled with Apoorva Sahodarangal, where the protagonist single-handedly steps forward to save the society from corruption.

      In fact, the story-writer K. V. Vijayendra Prasad employs his own Baabubali style revenge sensibilities also to the proceedings. And Atlee has succeeded in packaging all of that cliches in a way his mentor, Shankar, would be proud. AR Rahman's music and background score too adds flavour to its festival mood. The way Aalapporaan, the pick of the soundtrack, was placed is a treat to watch -- and loved its background versions too.

      Vijay, in his triple role, plays to his strengths and becomes the backbone of the movie, especially in its second hour. Among the female leads, it was Nithya and only Nithya Menon, who left an impression -- one Goddess she is!

      On the whole, in my opinion, with Mersal, Atlee was successful at emulating his mentor's trademark to a great extent, despite all the cliches that come along with it. For Vijay fans, this should be the perfect Diwali treat they were waiting for.

      3/5
      Last edited by Robert Langdon; 18th October 2017 at 07:04 PM.
      I think Iím sick, and I donít know if my ailment has a name. Itís just me sitting and staring at the internet or the television for long periods of time, interspersed by trying to not do that and then lying about what Iíve been doing.

    2. #2
      Owner, Stark Industries
      is Iron Man
       
      I am:
      Meh
       
      Tony Stark's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2015
      Location
      Abu Dhabi
      Posts
      13,628
      Mentioned
      177 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      97723

      Default

      Thanks RL

    3. #3
      Proud Indian
      is kidukkachi
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      pulijose's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Cherthala
      Posts
      59,376
      Mentioned
      128 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      167329

      Default

      Thanks Binoy

    4. #4
      Am COOL, MASS COOL!
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      22,285
      Mentioned
      8 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      16720

      Default

      hoi hoi..shukriya shukriya!

      langdaye polum vijrambippicha vijayam...recordukal pazhamkadhayaavunnu
      Naithik shiksha ke chutiyaape mein mistake hogaya...nahi tho aaj hum badiyaar aadmi hote!

    5. #5
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Sub-zero's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2014
      Posts
      603
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      91

      Default

      Thanks for the review , booked for tommo :-)
      " Inner Peace "

    6. #6
      Super Moderator
      is Mass
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      Sree's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      57,374
      Mentioned
      129 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      9960

      Default

      thanks langotti bro

    7. #7
      SS Ramesis
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sertzui's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26,368
      Mentioned
      28 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      60167

      Default

      Thanks Bro.

    8. #8
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Thorappan Bastin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2014
      Posts
      2,955
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      454

      Default

      Daiphame triple role aano .. thanks for the review

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •