• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  1
    Likes Likes:  14
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Thread: Simmba

    1. #1
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      4,072
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      12 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      52480

      Review Good Simmba

      Simmba is a Temper remake. But it's not a scene by scene copy of the original. The gist is the same. An orphan grows up to be a corrupt cop and an incident in his life shakes him up and turns him into an avenging supercop. But there are major differences from the original. The backstory and characterization of the cop and villain is different. Gone is the annoying overacting constable from the original,thankfully. And the idiotic romantic subplot is also kept short and sweet.

      The first half despite lacking in action is racy and supercharged. The second half does contain some repetitive sermons on women safety and maintains a preachy tone. But the one liners and whistle worthy moments from the original like the police station scene keep the movie afloat.

      Sara Ali Khan doesn't have much to do apart from shaking a leg with the hero in the Aankh Marey remix and mouthing some of the worst accented Marathi ever. Rohit Shetty's fixation on showing Goa as a state populated by only Marathis made me want to slap some sense into him.
      But I was glad that none of his usual antics like airborne vehicles and flying goons are repeated. Sonu Sood is very impressive as Durva Ranade, a powerful hoodlum who has a softer side too.

      Simmba announces the arrival of Ranveer Singh as true mass masala superstar and he delivers in style. His comic timing is off the charts and as a loveable rogue in uniform, he delivers the goods in both the emotional as well as the action sequences. Plus, he knows how to sell a killer punchline. Mind you, this cannot be compared with NTR 's character because both are poles apart.

      In short, a well made mass masala entertainer. A sequel will most definitely follow and beyond a sequel, a massive crossover looms

      Rating:3.25/5(Good)

      PS: Just like MCU and DCEU, we seem all set to enter into the RSCU. Apart from Simmba, this movie also features the director's original supercop along with the tease of a new Anti Terrorist Squad badass in the post credits who is being portrayed by the most patriotic man in the country
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya
      Tere layi ki ki nai kareya
      Vekh jeete jee main mareya
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya

    2. Thanks EmmeS thanked for this post
    3. #2
      An Ordinary Movie lover
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      baappootty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Ernakulam
      Posts
      13,762
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      2 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      5202

      Default

      Thanks for the review

    4. #3
      Proud Indian
      is kidukkachi
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      pulijose's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Cherthala
      Posts
      55,097
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      95 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      131190

      Default

      Thanks Poocha

    5. #4
      Super Moderator
      is Mass
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      Sree's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      57,054
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      113 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      9942

      Default

      thanks pooch

    6. #5
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      4,072
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      12 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      52480

      Default

      Welcome Bapootty, Pulijose and Sree
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya
      Tere layi ki ki nai kareya
      Vekh jeete jee main mareya
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya

    7. #6
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      4,072
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      12 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      52480

      Default

      So all the faux feminists have ripped into this movie for its toxic masculinity and portrayal of women.
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya
      Tere layi ki ki nai kareya
      Vekh jeete jee main mareya
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya

    8. #7
      SS Ramesis
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sertzui's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26,128
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      21 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      60151

      Default

      Thanks poocha.

      Negative reviews vayichu in medias. But good to see 3.5
      Will see it.

    9. Likes The Poocha liked this post
    10. #8
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      4,072
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      12 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      52480

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by sertzui View Post
      Thanks poocha.

      Negative reviews vayichu in medias. But good to see 3.5
      Will see it.
      Welcome, I also saw the negative reviews. Most of these are courtesy of women critics. They are having issues with the heroine stalking,rape angle in the movie and using the heroine as mere eye candy. All I can say is if Sholay were to be released now, we’d see complaints regarding objectification of Hema Malini and all such bullshit. Most of these critics have lost the ability to judge a movie purely based on its merits. They expect political correctness in movies. Anything that offends them will lead to a decrease in star ratings.

      The audiences ,I saw the movie with were having a blast. And yes, they included the modern independent 21st century’s women,who were whistling and clappping loudly at the hero’s antics ,no matter how outdated or politically incorrect they were
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya
      Tere layi ki ki nai kareya
      Vekh jeete jee main mareya
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya

    11. #9
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      4,072
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      12 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      52480

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Sree View Post
      thanks pooch
      Canadian veendum irangiyitindu. This time Pakistanod aayirikkum porattam. Veer Suryavanshi ATS Squad officer
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya
      Tere layi ki ki nai kareya
      Vekh jeete jee main mareya
      Ho beh gaya hanjua da dariya

    12. #10
      SS nerangi
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      ittichen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      21,636
      Post Thanks / Like
      Mentioned
      11 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      26416

      Default


      thnx p00cha..
      ennaalum NTR mass nte aduthengum varilla ranveeran..

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •