• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  60
    Likes Likes:  1,081
    Page 230 of 241 FirstFirst ... 130180220228229230231232240 ... LastLast
    Results 2,291 to 2,300 of 2407
    1. #2291
      [[***UNIVERSAL STAR***]]
      is katta kalipuu
       
      I am:
      Awesome
       
      AYYAPPADAS's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      karukachal,kottayam
      Posts
      13,954
      Mentioned
      17 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      141751

      Default

      The Power---climaxilotu ethumbozhanu enthanu padathinte story ekadesham pidikitiyath, athuvare horror aano vere vello aano enu manasilakan pattatha entho onnayitu thoni.enthayalum movie pora.
      COMING----MARAKKAR ARABIKADALINTE SIMHAM

      DRISYAM 2---MEGA BLOCKBUSTER
      ALL TIME BLOCKBUSTER LUCIFER COLLECTED 100 CRORES.. 2ND 100 CRORE FILM OF LALETTAN..
      ODIYAN ALL TIME 1ST DAY RECORD IN KERALA--7. 22 CRORES.


      Mega giga All time record blockbuster industry hit pulimurugan ki jai....

      Ennum eppozhum lalettan thanne no 1


    2. #2292
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Dr.BenAbraham's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2019
      Location
      Florida
      Posts
      163
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      57992

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Observer View Post
      Saw only Agni in this.
      thought it as unbelievable crap.
      Its not meant to be believable or realistic... hence the genre is named 'science-fiction'...
      "Greatest trick the devil ever pulled, was convincing the world he didnt exist..." - Soze

    3. #2293
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5,677
      Mentioned
      64 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      203665

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Dr.BenAbraham View Post
      Its not meant to be believable or realistic... hence the genre is named 'science-fiction'...
      The constant name dropping was annoying. Annunnakki, Mayans, Sumerians, Kubrick and the moon landings,Nolan. More than a homage or a reference, it felt like the maker was trying to appear to be a cool AF dude . The short wasn't bad though. It had a pulpy Sci fi vibe to it. And Arvind Swami got the mad scientist portrayal just right
      रू-ब-रू खुद से हुआ हूँ, मुझमें मुझको तू मिला
      बादलों के इस जहाँ में आसमाँ तुझमें मिला
      पिघली है अब रात भी, है सहर भी ये नम
      ना खुदा मैं तो रहा, बन गया तू धरम

    4. #2294
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,556
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      75774

      Default Navarasas ~ All Hype..More Disappointment...Yet Again!!!

      One of the current trend post OTT is "Anthology". Except 5 Sundarikal, I didn't see any anthology where more than 50% of the works impressed. I recall watching "Dus Kahaaniyan" where this idea popped out first (if Darna Mana Hai released after). ThenRanjith introduced "Kerala Cafe" where only Bridge and Happy Journey impressed me. Then we have series of anthologies with recent ones being Ray, Aanum Pennum & Paava Kadhaikal. I didn't watch Ray....Didn't like Aanum Pennum at all.....OK with PK. Now when Mani Ratnam announced Navarasa, I was not expecting high until the names popped up along with an impressed teaser (which happens to be the opening credits). But how was the experience??



      • It started off with Karuna aka Compassion which kicked off on a wrong note where I see Confusion more than COMPASSION, thanks to an overrated Bejoy Nambiar, who is unable to deliver a better film than his short silent classic, "Reflections". For a maker, whose Solo turned to be an absolute nightmare anthology (which contains some of the worst performance of DQ), poor writing cannot be conceals with good frames. Prakash Raj was in Singam Mode (style of acting ~ pun intended) while Revathy was the only good thing in the work. Did I notice VJS?? Nope!!!




      • After a false start, Summer of 92 provided a contrasting experience. Eventhough there was less laughter (disappointing considering its a Priyadarshan movie), there was a smile throughout due to its Malgudi Days treatment. Performance from the cast led by the young Velu was the lifeline along with a high note climax and last shot. A breezy experience more an out n out laughter (watched twice to guarantee that). A HASYA may not be guaranteed but a huge possibility for SMILE.




      • Out came a work with absolute stylish frames. Eventhough Karthik 1 gave a good competition, it didn't take much time for me to realize who is the director behind this. It was engaging eventhough I see clear inspirations from classic sci-fi movies starting from Matrix followed by Nolan-Kubrick collaboration. Despite of Swami's weird hairdo and a listless and miscast Shamna aka Poorna, the work was quite engaging. The final act was predictable from a point onwards. So was I pushed into the realm of WONDER...NO! (Its more realm of Hollywood classics)...But it was engaging and stood true to its theme.`A special mention to our Oppam Ron Ethan Yohanís score.




      • I didn't watch Pudding because I really didn't feel like to. Also the discouraging reviews made me stick to my decision or else the experience might turn out be DISGUSTING!!!




      • Karthik 1 joins the game after the classic debacle called "Jagame Thanthiram" which was a beta beta version of Kabaali. He made PEACE with it instead of trying to be beta beta version of 1917. Still this work had moments which stood true to its theme and the puppy portion would score extra brownie points. I honestly thought this work could have scored, if the last shot was conceived properly. Alas, that killed the movie.




      • The star of the show turns out to be Arvind Swamy's directorial debut ANGER. I agree the idea was old wine new bottle. Yet, its thr brilliance of narrator to keep the audience hooked emotionally with the events of the movie, The performances were top notch and Santhosh Sivan was simply superb. ARR was great at many portions except a score which played at wrong portion. The final act was superlative eventhough not novel.




      • If by Staring, someone can evoke FEAR into the minds of people....its not unusual...But if it goes beyond a certain time, it turns out to be funny. This is the best was to illustrate Siddharth's act. Parvathy's Wahida turned out to be the only one who looked scared while I was laughing at the whole confusion and act. I see many applauding this work because it stood true to its theme. I can empathize with Wahida as well as Marykkar. But did the makers delivered a compelling work...I am not sure! Did it have loopholes...Oh yeah IMO!!




      • Then out came Master of Staring Contest, Atharvaa Murali (who can be the success of Vijay if he becomes a bankable star). I was surprised that Mani Rathnam wrote this stuff and also behind the story idea of Ethiri. Oh God!...The main reason Navarasa earned so much hype turned out to be the weakest link in the series. An absolutely cliched stuff which audience would have rejected during 90s. A small portion in Shikkaar was far more compelling than this work...Yes!! It requires some COURAGE to make this and more PATIENCE for audience to sit through it.




      • Finally.....The Guitar Kambi Bla Bla Bla.......I was already tired by almost 4 hours of experience...Then came star of the show Suriya- GVM joining hands after the infamous feud which took almost 10 years from their collaboration. After a terrific comeback through Soorarai Pottru, Suriya seems all set for the reunion but an out of form GVM disappointed him after the boring 10 mins. It was pathetic to see a middle aged Suriya trying to be a young guy and thus became a huge miscast. Prayaga tried to imitate previous GVM bold heroines and failed ingloriously. The direction was so bad that I literally can see Suriya was poorly lipsyncing during the song sequences. Then its GVM cliches after cliches in the name of LOVE. By the, for the love of my time and energy, I stopped the show!!!



      Liked


      • Roudhram
      • Summer of 92


      Engaging


      • Project Agni


      Disappointing


      • Peace


      Confused


      • Fear


      Boring


      • Love


      Bad


      • Compassion


      Terrible


      • Fear


      Didnít Bother


      • Disgust


      RATINGS - 4/10
      Last edited by intexaqua; 9th August 2021 at 12:34 PM.

    5. #2295
      Dark Knight
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Secret
       
      Krrish's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      24,761
      Mentioned
      155 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      9774

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by intexaqua View Post
      One of the current trend post OTT is "Anthology". Except 5 Sundarikal, I didn't see any anthology where more than 50% of the works impressed. I recall watching "Dus Kahaaniyan" where this idea popped out first (if Darna Mana Hai released after). ThenRanjith introduced "Kerala Cafe" where only Bridge and Happy Journey impressed me. Then we have series of anthologies with recent ones being Ray, Aanum Pennum & Paava Kadhaikal. I didn't watch Ray....Didn't like Aanum Pennum at all.....OK with PK. Now when Mani Ratnam announced Navarasa, I was not expecting high until the names popped up along with an impressed teaser (which happens to be the opening credits). But how was the experience??



      • It started off with Karuna aka Compassion which kicked off on a wrong note where I see Confusion more than COMPASSION, thanks to an overrated Bejoy Nambiar, who is unable to deliver a better film than his short silent classic, "Reflections". For a maker, whose Solo turned to be an absolute nightmare anthology (which contains some of the worst performance of DQ), poor writing cannot be conceals with good frames. Prakash Raj was in Singam Mode (style of acting ~ pun intended) while Revathy was the only good thing in the work. Did I notice VJS?? Nope!!!




      • After a false start, Summer of 92 provided a contrasting experience. Eventhough there was less laughter (disappointing considering its a Priyadarshan movie), there was a smile throughout due to its Malgudi Days treatment. Performance from the cast led by the young Velu was the lifeline along with a high note climax and last shot. A breezy experience more an out n out laughter (watched twice to guarantee that). A HASYA may not be guaranteed but a huge possibility for SMILE.




      • Out came a work with absolute stylish frames. Eventhough Karthik 1 gave a good competition, it didn't take much time for me to realize who is the director behind this. It was engaging eventhough I see clear inspirations from classic sci-fi movies starting from Matrix followed by Nolan-Kubrick collaboration. Despite of Swami's weird hairdo and a listless and miscast Shamna aka Poorna, the work was quite engaging. The final act was predictable from a point onwards. So was I pushed into the realm of WONDER...NO! (Its more realm of Hollywood classics)...But it was engaging and stood true to its theme.`A special mention to our Oppam Ron Ethan Yohan’s score.




      • I didn't watch Pudding because I really didn't feel like to. Also the discouraging reviews made me stick to my decision or else the experience might turn out be DISGUSTING!!!




      • Karthik 1 joins the game after the classic debacle called "Jagame Thanthiram" which was a beta beta version of Kabaali. He made PEACE with it instead of trying to be beta beta version of 1917. Still this work had moments which stood true to its theme and the puppy portion would score extra brownie points. I honestly thought this work could have scored, if the last shot was conceived properly. Alas, that killed the movie.




      • The star of the show turns out to be Arvind Swamy's directorial debut ANGER. I agree the idea was old wine new bottle. Yet, its thr brilliance of narrator to keep the audience hooked emotionally with the events of the movie, The performances were top notch and Santhosh Sivan was simply superb. ARR was great at many portions except a score which played at wrong portion. The final act was superlative eventhough not novel.




      • If by Staring, someone can evoke FEAR into the minds of people....its not unusual...But if it goes beyond a certain time, it turns out to be funny. This is the best was to illustrate Siddharth's act. Parvathy's Wahida turned out to be the only one who looked scared while I was laughing at the whole confusion and act. I see many applauding this work because it stood true to its theme. I can empathize with Wahida as well as Marykkar. But did the makers delivered a compelling work...I am not sure! Did it have loopholes...Oh yeah IMO!!




      • Then out came Master of Staring Contest, Atharvaa Murali (who can be the success of Vijay if he becomes a bankable star). I was surprised that Mani Rathnam wrote this stuff and also behind the story idea of Ethiri. Oh God!...The main reason Navarasa earned so much hype turned out to be the weakest link in the series. An absolutely cliched stuff which audience would have rejected during 90s. A small portion in Shikkaar was far more compelling than this work...Yes!! It requires some COURAGE to make this and more PATIENCE for audience to sit through it.




      • Finally.....The Guitar Kambi Bla Bla Bla.......I was already tired by almost 4 hours of experience...Then came star of the show Suriya- GVM joining hands after the infamous feud which took almost 10 years from their collaboration. After a terrific comeback through Soorarai Pottru, Suriya seems all set for the reunion but an out of form GVM disappointed him after the boring 10 mins. It was pathetic to see a middle aged Suriya trying to be a young guy and thus became a huge miscast. Prayaga tried to imitate previous GVM bold heroines and failed ingloriously. The direction was so bad that I literally can see Suriya was poorly lipsyncing during the song sequences. Then its GVM cliches after cliches in the name of LOVE. By the, for the love of my time and energy, I stopped the show!!!



      Liked


      • Roudhram
      • Summer of 92


      Engaging


      • Project Agni


      Disappointing


      • Peace


      Confused


      • Fear


      Boring


      • Love


      Bad


      • Compassion


      Terrible


      • Fear


      Didn’t Bother


      • Disgust


      RATINGS - 4/10
      Same opinion.

    6. #2296
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5,677
      Mentioned
      64 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      203665

      Default

      Watched 4 shorts from Navarasa

      Rage:The best of the lot. Razor sharp filmmaking from Arvind Swami and the performances are great too

      Rating:3.5/5(Very Good)

      Disgust :A decent effort on account of the acting and the milieu

      Rating:2.75/5(Watchable)

      Fear :Enjoyed this one. The twist isn't groundbreaking or anything. But it's akin to reading a Jeffery Archer short story

      Rating:3/5(Good)

      Wonder: If you can look past the constant attempt at coolth from the maker, this one is a pulpy Sci fi tale that revels in it's ludicrousness and this makes it enjoyable

      Rating:3/5(Good)
      रू-ब-रू खुद से हुआ हूँ, मुझमें मुझको तू मिला
      बादलों के इस जहाँ में आसमाँ तुझमें मिला
      पिघली है अब रात भी, है सहर भी ये नम
      ना खुदा मैं तो रहा, बन गया तू धरम

    7. #2297
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Aravind Krishnan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Posts
      885
      Mentioned
      13 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      713

      Default

      Navarasa

      I was never really excited about this anthology and the weird teaser only reinforced my feelings (though music for the title theme was really good by ARR and on repeat mode). Saw a few shorts and didnt bother about the remainder.

      One thing that stands out for me throughout the anthology was that except for Project Agni, the remaining shorts felt rushed and for the most part, miscast. Take Parvathy from Inmai. Her character was shortchanged as the past version of her was played by another actress. And in a key emotional moment, her performance was over-the-top. For the first time in a long time I fast forwarded a cringeworthy GVM film, Guitar whatever it is...Surya was miscast as a young musician though the songs were nice. Prayaga tried but the age difference between the two showed. No chemistry. I liked the older Surya in London as he seemed more comfortable in that avathar.

      Despite all this, Project Agni lives up to the theme of wonder. It is the most thought provoking short I have seen in any anthology released recently. I sincerely hope all the Malayalam directors making movies today take time out and learn how to engage an audience in a matter of 30 minutes. From start to finish I was hooked. Arvind Swamy was just right as the obsessed mad-cap scientist with a conscience. His baritone was a particular highlight. His conversations with Prasanna can be played all day in my mind. I watched this twice. There are so many interesting themes from state of dreaming, simulated reality, time travel and mans greed which have all been put together without making us feel overwhelmed. Ron Ethan Yohann's score was minimalistic yet haunting. Yes it is clearly influenced by Nolan but the director seems self-aware of this. I really wish a sci-fi releases in our industry though 9 was a good attempt. Project Agni certainly has the potential to be an engaging full feature.

      Roudhram was a good debut by Arvind Swamy well complemented by Santhosh Sivan and ARR and solid performances too. I liked Payasam for Delhi Ganesh's acting and colourful costume work. It was the only short which felt somewhat more natural than forced. Inmai had good visuals and excellent score but felt confusing. Guitar Kambi was a real waste of time. Was never keen on Ethiri and Summer 92 had poor reviews.

      Navarasa's failure just goes to show that no matter the names behind a film, what matters most is the writing. But Project Agni left a smile on my face.

    8. #2298
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Aravind Krishnan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Posts
      885
      Mentioned
      13 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      713

      Default

      Comparing Sibi Malayil-Lohithdas-Mohanlal with...Laxman Utekar.

    9. #2299
      Miaaaowww
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      The Poocha's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5,677
      Mentioned
      64 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      203665

      Default

      The Suicide Squad



      A significant improvement over the original. Although the narration in the initial hour is all over the place, the movie does become fun as it speeds towards it's conclusion. Some of the jokes however do not land though. Although the Ratcatcher is the emotional bedrock of the movie, somehow it doesn't measure up with James Gunn's previous efforts at crafting genuine emotion in a superhero tale. But thankfully we get more wacky stuff in the last hour. Hope they don't waste Idris Elba as in the MCU. And thankfully they managed to turn Cena heel ;something that the McMahon's should have done ages ago

      Rating:3/5(Good)
      Last edited by The Poocha; 10th August 2021 at 04:36 PM.
      रू-ब-रू खुद से हुआ हूँ, मुझमें मुझको तू मिला
      बादलों के इस जहाँ में आसमाँ तुझमें मिला
      पिघली है अब रात भी, है सहर भी ये नम
      ना खुदा मैं तो रहा, बन गया तू धरम

    10. #2300
      [[***UNIVERSAL STAR***]]
      is katta kalipuu
       
      I am:
      Awesome
       
      AYYAPPADAS's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      karukachal,kottayam
      Posts
      13,954
      Mentioned
      17 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      141751

      Default

      Jessie--Telugu horror movie. Nalla neat aayitedutha oru horror movie aanu. Ishtapettu. Adutha kalathu kanda horror moviesinekal orupaadu better aanu.
      COMING----MARAKKAR ARABIKADALINTE SIMHAM

      DRISYAM 2---MEGA BLOCKBUSTER
      ALL TIME BLOCKBUSTER LUCIFER COLLECTED 100 CRORES.. 2ND 100 CRORE FILM OF LALETTAN..
      ODIYAN ALL TIME 1ST DAY RECORD IN KERALA--7. 22 CRORES.


      Mega giga All time record blockbuster industry hit pulimurugan ki jai....

      Ennum eppozhum lalettan thanne no 1


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •