• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  9
    Likes Likes:  26
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 42
    1. #1
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,221
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74184

      Default 1917 ~ Anchaam Paathira ~ Psycho - Opinions

      1917

      Date ~ 25/01/2020
      Venue ~ IMAX, Cinepolis, Pune
      Status ~ 100%
      Showtime ~ 01:05 PM


      Absolute blown away by this epic war drama. An absolute director's movie where he just used simple "messenger sent with a message and the obstacles he encounter" to execute a 120+ minutes drama with exquisite visuals, tension and brilliant action choreography. But nothing beat the one shot mode on both halves which I believe is the best interval point I have seen in all movies till now. George McKay was simply outstanding as Lance Corporal William who conveyed emotions of helplessness, fear, lost etc. Sam Mendes never opted for any moment of heroism to portray his characters and thus adds to its credibility. It was no surprise that Roger Deakins was nominated for his work but extremely surprised not to see Lee Smith's editing not in the list of nominees. C'mon, how else such an incredible feat would have been executed. With delightful cameos from Sherlock, Moriarty, Blackwood along with Robb Stark & Harry Hart, this is a true visual experience which reminds us why some movies are meant for big screens.

      Ratings - 9.75/10





      Anchaam Paathira


      Venue ~ INOX, Amanora
      Screen - 05
      Showtime - 11:45 AM
      Status - 100%

      After hearing some absolutely incredible opinions, I had a hunch that this movie is getting overrated. After the experience, I felt the same. Its overrated. The first half of the movie featuring the cat n game was engaging especially with some fresh or relatively unknown faces along with Kunchacko Boban, Jinu Joseph and co. The movie did reminded me of movies like Yuddhan Sei (The wolf mask scene) and Rakshasan...yet there was a signature of Midhun Manuel especially in the jump scares. That newspaperman-bullet shot scene was outstanding. But after a brilliant build up, we see an absolutely "I don't know what to do" writer/director handling the second half. It was cliches after cliches which I have seen "n" number of times in recent serial killer movies. And yeah, there is yet another sorry past for the serial killer. But I honestly didn't like the idea of introducing the "killer" in the movie. MMT just didn't do justice to the first half brilliance and ended up rather on a half baked note. Regarding performances, Kunchacko Boban really didn't have anything to do as a lead role which is a good thing cause we see characters more than the difference between lead n supporting. But easily, it was Unnimaya Prasad who stole the thunder from the rest of the cast. I didn't like the manner Jinu Joseph was delivering his lines. It looks like he mugged up and just delivering without emotions. Sreenath Bhasi was usual himself while Indrans was terrific in his cameo. Remya Nambeeshan was enthino thilaykkunna sambhaar while Jaffer Idukki did a great job along with Thaneer Mathan Boy & Sudheesh. The lifeline of this movie is easily the technical team comprising of Shiyju Khalid's camerawork, Soundfactor's sound designing, Sushin Shyam's BGM (felt traces of his own Varathan & Interstellar/Rakshasan theme here n there) & Saiju Sreedharan's editing. Overall, Achaam Paathira is a one time watch with normal expectations. After hearing all those reviews, it turned out to be an average experience for me. I liked Memories & Mumbai Police way more than this movie.


      Ratings - 6/10




      Psycho


      Venue
      - Cinepolis, Seasons Mall
      Audi - 12
      Showtime - 03:15 PM
      Status - 100%

      Disappointed...Absolutely disappointed. I don't care whether the critics who gave overwhelming reviews trying to bring philosophical lines to justify this shoddy work, but for me its Myshkin's worst work till date. Myshkin is known for portraying violence even without the help of bloodshed (like Thupparivaalan, Yuddham Sei). So when he is given the freedom to portray blood in his movie like anything, I expected him to have a script that supports the violence. At the end, it turned out to be "Violence without Substance". The characters looked a bit abnormal like most of his earlier characters led by Kamala Das (Nithya Menon), Gauthaman (Udaynidhi Stalin), Dahini (Aditi Rao). With all delivering over the top performances while some absolutely poor ones like Aditi Rao (especially in a scene where the cam is kept 150 mts away as she is delivering her lines). Since Rajkumar is playing a Psycho, he reminded me of Vinay's Devil from Thupparivaalan in looks but since he is a Psycho, he can go overboard. Then we see Myshkkin's throwing one outrageous scene after another where I felt like applauding Priyan with what he did in Oppam's blind character. The last 20 minutes was an absolute mess with a song played as Gauthaman & Kamala are driving a car. The last turned out to be an unintentional comedy while the film failed to have the Myshkkin signature grand climax. Only highlights were the frames and art work along with Ilayaraja's BGM and superbly shot "Unnai Nenachu.." song. This movie is not worth the hype.

      Ratings - 3/10
      Last edited by intexaqua; 26th January 2020 at 09:49 PM.

    2. #2
      SS Ramesis
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sertzui's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      27,113
      Mentioned
      32 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      60220

      Default

      Thanks for the good analysis. I would agree with you on KB having nothing to do which I did mention earlier and also the emotionless or non sync act from Jinu.
      Pinne Ramya patti paranjathu Sheri ayilla ta.. Paavam, ente kutti kore kalam kazhinju onnu thilangan vannatha..... Ningal Sambar akiyallo,,,!
      Between: The newspaper boy scene was awesome


      1971 - This weekend planning
      Psycho - TV

      Thanks again.

    3. #3
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,221
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74184

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by sertzui View Post

      Pinne Ramya patti paranjathu Sheri ayilla ta.. Paavam, ente kutti kore kalam kazhinju onnu thilangan vannatha..... Ningal Sambar akiyallo,,,!




      Thanks again.



      Athe Role...Athe Sambhar :-)


      Welcome

    4. #4
      SS Ramesis
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sertzui's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      27,113
      Mentioned
      32 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      60220

      Default

      Ramya chechiye vittere....... Deshyam vannal njan Mam fansine kalum tharayanu


      Quote Originally Posted by intexaqua View Post


      Athe Role...Athe Sambhar :-)


      Welcome

    5. #5
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      BrandoLal's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Tripunithura
      Posts
      1,862
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      14070

      Default

      Thanks intex for the reviews
      Absolutely agree with your assessments on 1917 and Ancham Pathira

    6. #6
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,221
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74184

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by BrandoLal View Post
      Thanks intex for the reviews
      Absolutely agree with your assessments on 1917 and Ancham Pathira
      Psycho kando?

    7. #7
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Aravind Krishnan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Posts
      812
      Mentioned
      12 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      699

      Default

      Thanks Intexequa...

      seems like many filmmakers in Tamil and Malayalam are falling into this cliche of 'humanising' the villains. Ratsasan had the same issue too.
      just follow what Nolan did with the Joker in Dark Knight...make him a badass with no past or redeeming angle.

    8. #8
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,221
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74184

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Aravind Krishnan View Post
      Thanks Intexequa...

      seems like many filmmakers in Tamil and Malayalam are falling into this cliche of 'humanising' the villains. Ratsasan had the same issue too.
      just follow what Nolan did with the Joker in Dark Knight...make him a badass with no past or redeeming angle.


      Actually I take this moment how the current gen of critics are royally ignoring one of your Top 20 movies of the decade "Grandmaster" (which is my fav too) for bringing back serial murder and humanizing the killer by giving him an apt reason to take revenge. I saw these critics mentioning Rakshasan, Memories (agreed that they had better theater experience with visuals and sound) but still GM was that movie which restarted the trend in Malayalam. Villain followed it but went through another direction which was more drama than thriller.

    9. #9
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Dr.BenAbraham's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2019
      Location
      Florida
      Posts
      120
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      37712

      Default

      unnimaya prasad edakathe chila scenes il dubbing unsync feel cheydo? or was it just my screen's issue... jinu joseph pinne pande dialog delivery oru prathyega style aayonde was desensitised...
      agree with you on kubo's ordinary perfo...
      jaffer n indrans were awesome...

    10. #10
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Dr.BenAbraham's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2019
      Location
      Florida
      Posts
      120
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      37712

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by intexaqua View Post


      Actually I take this moment how the current gen of critics are royally ignoring one of your Top 20 movies of the decade "Grandmaster" (which is my fav too) for bringing back serial murder and humanizing the killer by giving him an apt reason to take revenge. I saw these critics mentioning Rakshasan, Memories (agreed that they had better theater experience with visuals and sound) but still GM was that movie which restarted the trend in Malayalam. Villain followed it but went through another direction which was more drama than thriller.
      Right on. Its one of my favourites of the genre too... but aa pathine vanna demerits were that it was too similar to agatha christie's ABC murders n also siddique's old famous 'black and white' serial (written by unni itself)... Adaavum palarum adine deserving dues kodukkathade...

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •