• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  11
    Likes Likes:  17
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13
    1. #1
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,145
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74178

      Default Varane Avashyamunde ~ An Opinion



      Date
      – 15/02/2020
      Venue – Cinepolis, Seasons Mall, Pune
      Audi - 06
      Showtime – 03:20 PM
      Status – 90%


      In this Anoop Sathyan directorial debut, you can see the positives of a typical SathyanAnthikad movie placed in an updated version. I think this is where the movie scored on a high note.

      Nikhitha aka Nikki (Kalyani Priyadarshan) is on search of a groom and believes in arranged marriage since her groom must stay within the parameters as well as her mother’s, Neena’s (Shobhana) failed love marriage. They meet interesting characters in their building like Major Unnikrishnan (Suresh Gopi) & “Fraud” (Dulquer Salmaan).

      The idea eventhough is not fresh but still its interesting. Not fresh because we have seen something similar in 2001 Xmas release “Ishtam” but interesting because the story is told based on the perception of women. Anoop Sathyan maintained the right rhythm to orchestrate the incidents in the movie. Each character’s back story has been told properly without going overboard even for a moment. I think this is where Anoop has upgraded from Sathyan. Just check out the moments where Neena narrates her failed marriage to Manuel (Lalu Alex), Fraud about his backdrop to Nikki, Major Unnikrishnan about his mum to Dr. Bose (Johnny Antony). All these moments were delicately handled without reducing the motional quotient. Still the highlight of the movie is easily the superb casting. It’s the experienced cast comprising of Suresh Gopi, Shobhana, Urvashi, KPAC Lalitha mixed with the younger lot (DQ & Kalyani) along with Major Ravi & Johnny Antony that elevated the movie with their performances. Anoop Sathyan smartly used Suresh Gopi’s star image to enhance the humourous moments. The scene where he apologizes to Major Ravi’s grandson is terrrrrrific!!! On a negative side, I felt that Anoop could have detailed the romantic relationship between Neena& Unnikrishnan. He just used a song which didn’t carry many scenes featuring their romance. Also, I felt Fraud’s romance with Nikki was handled in a very convenient filmy fashion. BTW, how did he get that name?

      As I mentioned, casting is the main highlight. EventhoughShobhana’s name was first in the credits, the movie absolutely belonged to Suresh Gopi who got the best scene and dialogues. Now those who have doubts regarding how he became a star when Big Ms were at their peak, just see how the screen experience elevated when he makes an entry. Credit goes to Anoop for using him extremely well. On other hand, Shobhana was gorgeous despite the ageing. Even when Neena&Unni’s romance was not well defined, we will easily buy it because those roles are played by Shobhana& Suresh Gopi respectively who have charmed us in movies like Manichitrathaazhu, Commisisoner, Sindhurarekha. May be that’s the reason why Anoop didn’t spare much time in that establishment. Kalyani Priyadarshan made a confident debut and shown clear signs that she is here to stay. The character goes through various emotional moments and she delivered without showing issues of a debutante. I am sure first choice Nazriya would have “kolamaakal” with her onscreen filmy cuteness. DQ was charming in a role which demanded him despite the short screentime. Or else that character wouldn’t have stayed in our mind. Johnny Antony simply hit out of the park with his comic one-liners. Urvashi simply shown why she is regarded as one of he greatest actress of all time..just few scenes and lines…and the emotions she conveyed through her eyes….WOW!!! KPAC was outstanding as Aakashavani. Siju Wilson had a hilarious cameo while Major Ravi was really good. Santhosh Sivan’s son who played DQ’s younger sibling was good too.

      The technical side was fine where the visuals reminded me of typical SathyanAnthikad movie. One frame that stood in my mind is the night shot of Major Unnkrishnan at beach with sparks sprayed in front of him. Songs were good to ok.

      I loved this movie…it was emotional, humorous and above engaging with a cast that can make you nostalgic. A sure recco.

      Ratings8.5/10

    2. #2
      BB Thread Owner
      is PaKka LocaL !!!
       
      I am:
      Secret
       
      Idivettu Shamsu's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Dharavi
      Posts
      12,042
      Mentioned
      37 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      12822

      Default

      Thanks bro...


    3. #3
      Super Moderator
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      anukutty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      29,289
      Mentioned
      63 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      8771

      Default

      Thanks man,but i will rate this below AK...
      Best page in SS : Read page No 228 of Odiyan official thread.

    4. #4
      SS Ramesis
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sertzui's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      27,082
      Mentioned
      32 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      60216

      Default

      Thanks Intex.

      Entho for me it will be a 5/10 - Mainly bcos of the way it was made.
      First half sherikkum bore adichu

    5. #5
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Friendly
       
      vip's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Posts
      5,531
      Mentioned
      146 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      27640

      Default

      Thanks

    6. #6
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Spark's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      238
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      44

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by sertzui View Post
      Thanks Intex.

      Entho for me it will be a 5/10 - Mainly bcos of the way it was made.
      First half sherikkum bore adichu
      Enikkum chila scenes bore adichu. I felt something was missing in the movie. Ippo shariyavum ippo shariyavum ennu vicharichu oro minutum kadannu poyi kondirunnu. Pidiichu nirthiyathu Johny antony-Suresh gopi hilarious scenes ayirunnu. Interval kazhinju pakuthi ayappozhekkum onnu clutch pidichu. Onnu ushaarayappozhekkum movie theernnu. Pazhaya cinemakalilokke Nazeerinodu chila kadhapathrangal "ningalkku PremNazeerinte chaya undallo" ennu chodikkunnathu poleyulla climax koodeyayappol shubam

      Chelappo, over expectations pani thannathayieikkum

    7. #7
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,145
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74178

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by anukutty View Post
      Thanks man,but i will rate this below AK...
      I know majority liked AK over VA. Personally, I went with avg expectations becoz of the reviews from SS. Me & my wife simply enjoyed the movie and thats what I give primary importance. Also I might be charmed by sheer nostalgia presented by Suresh Gopi, Shobhana & Urvashi. Let me honest, I wasnt at all bored by this movie during a single moment. But for AK, towards the last 20 mins, I started to get a bit bored. Especially when you see a terrible performance from Ranjith in a brilliant character. I felt his entry to Kattapana could have been just avoided. Also the climax fight was underwhelming.

      Quote Originally Posted by sertzui View Post
      Thanks Intex.

      Entho for me it will be a 5/10 - Mainly bcos of the way it was made.
      First half sherikkum bore adichu
      Even S Gopi scenes??

      Quote Originally Posted by Spark View Post
      Enikkum chila scenes bore adichu. I felt something was missing in the movie. Ippo shariyavum ippo shariyavum ennu vicharichu oro minutum kadannu poyi kondirunnu. Pidiichu nirthiyathu Johny antony-Suresh gopi hilarious scenes ayirunnu. Interval kazhinju pakuthi ayappozhekkum onnu clutch pidichu. Onnu ushaarayappozhekkum movie theernnu. Pazhaya cinemakalilokke Nazeerinodu chila kadhapathrangal "ningalkku PremNazeerinte chaya undallo" ennu chodikkunnathu poleyulla climax koodeyayappol shubam

      Chelappo, over expectations pani thannathayieikkum

      Over expectations?? Valare avg opinion aayirunnu in SS. Eventhough BMS tells another tale with %

    8. #8
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Spark's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      238
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      44

      Default

      Enikku parichayamulla randu perkku nalla opinion ayirunnu. SS il mikkavarum good ennu thanneyanu paranjathu. Separate thread ayit vanna Tony Stark's reviewum positive ayirunnu.

    9. #9
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,145
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74178

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Spark View Post
      Enikku parichayamulla randu perkku nalla opinion ayirunnu. SS il mikkavarum good ennu thanneyanu paranjathu. Separate thread ayit vanna Tony Stark's reviewum positive ayirunnu.

      ​Pakshe AK poole highly positive aayirunnilla....some said average n all during the gulf release

    10. #10
      Super Moderator
      is Mass
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      Sree's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      60,647
      Mentioned
      201 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      150611

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by intexaqua View Post
      Over expectations?? Valare avg opinion aayirunnu in SS. Eventhough BMS tells another tale with %
      tony 4/5 koduthathum njan okke 2 times kandathum aaya padamanu ...ennittu ningade kannil avg reviews mathre pidichullo?

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •