• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  11
    Likes Likes:  31
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21
    1. #1
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,145
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74178

      Default Ayyappanum Koshiyum ~ An Opinion



      Date
      – 15/02/2020
      Venue – INOX, Amanora Mall, Pune
      Screen - 06
      Showtime – 07:45 PM
      Status – 90%


      More than month back, I regarded “Driving License” as one of the best commercial entertainers in recent times. That’s mainly because of the script by Sachy led by racy narration by Lal Jr. Also, the moments were fresh a completely focused on the title. If you observe that movie, it opted for a typical commercial route. The characters are introduced, established and then the issue which connects the lead characters is put in front, the clash and the climax. Absolute regular format.
      When Sachi took over the role of the director, he used the same theme or rather storyline and brought some evident changes. Maybe he might be inspired from his own creation. The metro backdrop was replaced with rural, the clash was introduced before establishing the characters and thecharacters backdrop are revealed during the narration. Also, he used issues of caste/aristocracy/feudalism etc. into the clash. Unlike Driving License, the approach is more off beat. SachI doesn’t put any new incidents in a big way to develop the clash. He rather reveals multiple traits of the character by putting them through different circumstances and thus increase the intensity of the clash. But this also became an issue after 3/4th of the movie where we just wanted the movie to reach the climax. I wished this where Sachi the director flawed. Out of Ayyappan & Koshy, I felt Koshy was more developed than Ayyappan. Other than one scene from C I Satheesh (Anil Nedumangad) explaining about his past verbally, Ayyappan is more of a mystery. On other hand, we get a clear picture of Koshiy and why he behaves in a haughty manner. Personally, I felt the clash was bit overstretched and the climax ended up on a rather familiar note. I wish Sachi could have taken care of that just like he took care of each n every character of this movie.

      Speaking of cast, eventhough we feel Biju Menon is the lead role, its Prithviraj as Koshiy that stood a tad above. Biju Menon had some good “mass” scenes but Prithvirajgot the best acting moments. It requires guts for an actor to play a character like Koshiy who himself is a victim of his own circumstances and misunderstanding. Biju Menon as usually shined in a role which I believe only he can justify in the current circumstances. Anil Nedumangad as C I Satheesh was simply outstanding. Gowri Nanda got some terrific scenes. Ramesh Kottayam as Kumarettan attained the attention of the audience. While Sabumon, Anu Mohan were good in their roles, Arjun Ashokan, Anna Rajan&Aji John didn’t create any impact. Ranjith was absolutely poor in a role which demanded an actor like Thilakan. It was cringy to see when he delivers the dialogues with a dialect. The actors who played the role of Jessy & Faizal created an impact.

      Jakes Bejoy’s soundtrack suited the mood of the film along with the rustic frames created by Sudeep Elamon. Ranjan Abraham’s editing should have been better towards the end.

      This movie is easily Sachy’s best work and big leap when you consider his debut “Anarkali”. Still I believe this film could have been better especially if they dealt with the length, it would have been an outstanding experience. I was a bit pumped up after the overwhelming positive reviews.

      Ratings7.5/10

    2. #2
      Proud Indian
      is kidukkachi
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      pulijose's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Cherthala
      Posts
      60,355
      Mentioned
      153 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      167392

      Default

      Thanks

      അർജുൻ അശോകൻ ഏത് റോൾ ആയിരുന്നു?

    3. #3
      BB Thread Owner
      is PaKka LocaL !!!
       
      I am:
      Secret
       
      Idivettu Shamsu's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Dharavi
      Posts
      12,042
      Mentioned
      37 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      12822

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by pulijose View Post
      Thanks

      അർജുൻ അശോകൻ ഏത് റോൾ ആയിരുന്നു?
      Athe arjune njanum kandilalo


    4. #4
      Active User
      is Dr. Strangelove
       
      I am:
      Bemused
       
      Smartu's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Location
      Bangalore/Thrissur
      Posts
      19,463
      Mentioned
      211 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      42271

      Default

      Fully agree cheyunna karyam. prthvi characteriloode aanu padam povunne and prthvi kidukiyitundu.
      Best in the World

    5. #5
      Super Moderator
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      anukutty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      29,289
      Mentioned
      63 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      8771

      Default

      Yeah Intex mass review ethi...Ithoru prathyekatharam rasam,haram aanu ee cinema.Enthaanathu ennu chodichaal namukku parayaan pattilla...we have to experience it in theatres itself.

      Anna Rajan was ok....''chettaa aa plates''' typical wife....
      Last edited by anukutty; 16th February 2020 at 07:29 PM.
      Best page in SS : Read page No 228 of Odiyan official thread.

    6. #6
      SS Ramesis
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sertzui's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      27,082
      Mentioned
      32 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      60216

      Default

      Thanks Intex for the good review as usual.
      Will watch soon

    7. #7
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      intexaqua's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      abide ibide ebidengilum
      Posts
      11,145
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      74178

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by pulijose View Post
      Thanks

      അർജുൻ അശോകൻ ഏത് റോൾ ആയിരുന്നു?
      Quote Originally Posted by Idivettu Shamsu View Post
      Athe arjune njanum kandilalo
      Sorry...I mistook Aji as Arjun bloated

    8. #8
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Friendly
       
      vip's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Posts
      5,531
      Mentioned
      146 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      27640

      Default

      Thanks

    9. #9
      Active User
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      sethumadhavan's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      chennai
      Posts
      1,135
      Mentioned
      8 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      12629

      Default

      Kandappo enikku thonniyathu....
      1. Ithu thanne alle Dricing License?
      2. The opening and reason behind the conflict is well established. But, after a point it becomes king sized egos being pushed on artificially by a screenplay that does not want to end. Bringing Ranjith's character to Attappadi only lengthened the movie by 10 mins, nothing else. BTW, Ranjith was total miscast, maybe Saikumar?
      3. Movie works largely because of the performances of the leading men, both were fantastic. Special mention to Prithvi for playing a role which looks like second fiddle, at many points, for the second movie in a row. Mundoor Maadan factor did not live up to the hype that the pronouncement created, but still gave his character an aura.
      4. Even when the movie got a bit long, the director did manage to maintain the anticipation behind the final showdown and also effectively kept us guessing about which way that fight would go, which is what kept us invested in the climax. Good watch.

    10. #10
      SS PrinceSS
      is Hasta la vista
       
      I am:
      Meh
       
      ~MiLi~'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      ente kunjulokathu
      Posts
      5,512
      Mentioned
      196 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Follows
      0
      Following
      0
      Rep Power
      159514

      Default

      Agree abt Ranjiyettan...

      Sent from my SM-J810G using Tapatalk


      ഞാൻ ഈ ഉഴപ്പൊക്കെ നിർത്തി.....അങ്ങ് നന്നായാലോ എന്ന് ആലോചിക്കുവാ

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •